Food Trip: Chelsea Market Cafe

03.16.2012

I am always in the look for places that are great for having dinners/lunches with friends or family that is strategically located in the Ortigas area. When I found out that one of my favorite restaurants opened a second branch in The Podium, it is always top of mind as a good place to meet up with friends.

Chelsea Market Cafe is both a restaurant and a deli, where you can get fresh breads, wine, cheese and other gourmet items. Its funny this is the 2nd restaurant this week I’ve eaten that bears the name of a Manhattan area. I probably am missing New York a little.

Chelsea is located west of Manhattan and is a popular district for gourmet markets and dinning.

I had dinner with my friends Hannah and Joey, friends from my Landmark Education days, to catch up as we haven’t seen each other for ages.

Hannah, myself and Joey

Since it was Friday and in the middle of Lent, we chose foods that were of fish in nature. We ordered an assortment from their menu, from pizza, pasta and main course.

We started off with foccaccia bread with vinegar and olive oil and roasted garlic, compliments of the house. The bread was soft, and this is the only place where I eat whole garlic cloves, because it is soft and spreadable and a perfect compliment for the bread.

We ordered their roasted scallops pizza (P495), and I am a fan of thin-crusted pizzas. The bread was soft and chewy with plentiful cheese and scallops.

For pasta we tried their clam and sun dried tomato vongole (P495). This is my favorite pasta here as the pasta is cooked in a creamy seafood broth, and has a tangy taste from the lemon. The noodles were just chewy and al dente, and the serving big enough to share.

And for the big plates or main course we got good ole Fish and Chips (P495). I love the huge slices of dory, fried in beer batter. The fish and chips were dipped in either tartar sauce or vinegar. It was a bit oily for me so I barely finished one piece.

Chelsea comes of a bit expensive but the size of its portions more than make up for its servings. Its a great place to relax and have good conversations with friends as the three of us couldn’t stop laughing at Joey’s newly married tales.

CHELSEA MARKET CAFE

1st Level, The Podium
12 ADB Ave., Ortigas Center
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila, Philippines

Phone Number
(+63 2) 914-0006

Operating Hours
Monday to Friday 11:00am to 11:30pm
Saturday and Sunday 10:30am to 11:00pm

Leave a Reply

