The Beauty Book: My Korean Beauty Loot

Koreans are very well known for their beauty and skin care lines. Brands like The Face Shop, Etude, Skin Food and Laniage have all made its way into the Philippines and have been staples in our beauty and skin care regimen.

As an avid beauty and skin care fan, I couldn’t pass up not getting something from these stores to update my skin care and make-up line.

The stores are easy to find. In Myeong-dong, the stores are right next to each other and are usually open later than the boutiques. The sales ladies are very helpful and actually know their skincare line when we asked them specific questions like “what is good for dry skin?” or “what is good for women 50 and above to use?” (like when I got my mom some beauty products). And the best part are the freebies that come with it 🙂

Here is my Korean Beauty loot:

I got some cleansers, BB creams, eye creams and lipstick!

I am an avid fan of oil based cleansers and have been using Shu Uemura cleansing oils as a prime make up remover. I was running out of stock so I wanted to get one, but found this great alternative from Nature Republic! Its made out of Olive Oil, perfect for dry to normal skin. I tried and tested it already and it easily removed my daily make-up and has the sweet smell of olive oil. Its also light on the face and much cheaper than Shu Uemura!

BB Creams (Blemish Balm creams) are all the rage now and has gained popularity in Korea, and now in the Philippine market. Its used mainly to hide imperfections, giving a smoother effect on skin. I experimented with two brands – Tony Moly and Nature Republic, trying out their snail bb cream, that promises to keep the skin moist and firm.

I already started using the Nature Republic brand, and I liked the results. I use mainly after putting on my tinted moisturizer as a sort of concealer before dusting off with mineral powder. The results is flawless looking skin and it surprisingly stays on until I wash it off with water and cleanser.

Because I am not getting younger, I invested on some eye cream to pack in the vitamins and help reduce wrinkles. I got the 70 Whitening Collagen Dream Eye Cream from Nature Republic, that the sales lady says was for lightening dark undereyes and the collagen ingredient helps reduces wrinkles. I’ve applied it both day and night. It has a light formula that isn’t that irritating to the eyes and it sticks! I was surprised when I accidentally washed it off when I went to the bathroom at night, and left a little residue.

And ofcourse no journey to Korea is complete without a stop at the airport duty free to get some MAC lipstick which was actually cheaper than here in the Philippines. I got some red Ruby Woo retro matte lipstick and stocked up on my staple Viva Glam IV lipstick.

Leave a Reply

