Iskolar ng Bayan

I chanced upon this photo from my Facebook wall and I couldn’t help but post it. I haven’t yet shared something about my college years (I already have one post about high school) and this is a perfect way to this.

I graduated from the University of the Philippines, Diliman Campus, one of the most prestigious universities in the country, with the Diliman Campus being the flagship and biggest campus of the system. And we pride ourselves to being the cream of the crop in terms of intelligence and social activism. And most of all, we carry the name Iskolar ng Bayan (The Country’s Scholar) as our education is directly subsidized by the good taxpaying citizens of the Philippines.

This statement struck me as I am again reminded what am I here for. Its easy to get lost in the real world of working. And I am again proud to say I am living this statement, as I have opted to work in the country’s number one media networks, who’s mission statement is “in the service of the Filipino worldwide.” Our top of mind is the Filipino viewer as we give them hope and inspiration.

I just wish this could serve as a reminder to my fellow Iskos and Iskas, and also to my fellow Filipinos as well.

Kudos to the Iskolars ng Bayan!

The Story So Far: The Post-Valentine Entry

02.15.12

So its the day after Valentines and we’re half way through the second month of the year. February is the shortest month and to me, it just flew by as quickly as it came.

Since Valentine’s day just ended, I would just like to share the rollercoaster of emotions yesterday. I am currently and still single and all that lovey-dovey atmosphere just sometimes gets to me, that I wish I had somebody to give me flowers or just to simply make me smile and get all giggly (in Filipino we have a term called kilig). But then I remind myself its just a day, all hyped up by society and actually enjoyed it with a food trip with friends during lunch, a light work day, dinner with my family and a nice relaxing evening at home.

Putting that aside, its time to focus again on living life.

So far, February has been a good blogging month for me as I have gained new followers and viewers. I am just astounded by the response. Thank you all for taking the time to read and enjoy my entries and it gives me the motivation to write and make a point to think of something to share each day.

As for work, things have definitely still slowed down this month as sales aren’t picking up yet. I was ranting to it with my teammate and she also shared with me that we are indeed feeling the slow pace at work.

Its also my final month with Sports and I am again feeling the melancholy of leaving a platform I grew to love and people I enjoyed working with. But things are looking up with my original platform, the Kids platform as we just finished our planning and was currently briefed on a corporate-wide campaign just for our young viewers, which was just exciting for our platform.

It was also a rollercoaster of emotions this month as some of my friends dealt with serious issues with their lives this month. You may have not seen it with the entries I’ve been churning out, but it definitely had some effect on me.

I have more to look forward to this month! Happily our lives are slowly getting back to normal. I am also eagerly awaiting our CDO adventure (watch out for this entry) this weekend with Ria, Char and Davis. I am also excited for the Azkals game at the end of the month live in Manila versus Malaysia. I will also be a godmother for the 7th time around to Shawn Jayden Lim who will join the Christian world at the end of the month.

Life is still exciting and I’m still eager to watch and participate in its unfolding 🙂

See you again at the end of the month 🙂

The Backlash on Jeremy Lin

NBA Asian-American invader Jeremy Lin’s rise to face sparked the sporting community with some backlashing from boxer Floyd Mayweather with his tweet:

@FloydMayweather: Jeremy Lin is a good player but all the hype is because he’s Asian. Black players do what he does every night and don’t get the same praise.

Ofcourse it raised some eyebrows in the sporting world with his comment, especially to the Filipinos since this is the same fighter who doesn’t want to fight pound for pound king Manny Pacquaio.

A very good article from the Huffington Post shares a special insight into Jeremy Lin and his rise to fame.

Jeremy Lin: The Backlash

Linsanity is a fantastic event on multiple fronts — a racial milestone reached, a sports story involving a woeful franchise perhaps rescued by an unlikely hero, and the compelling tale of a guy no one counted on, who comes through huge. But in the end, it is a simpler story than the one that broad racial assumptions are inclined to spin out: Lin is a very good basketball player, no more, no less.

Lin-sanity just proved himself once again that his skills are no fluke. He just brought his team once again to victory with a 3-pointer at the last few seconds of the game against the Toronto Raptors.

Good on you, Jeremy Lin!

Project 365: i <3 my iPhone :) (day 46)

Hehehe. I seriously had no favorite entry today as I was mostly busy with work and had back to back meetings. My evening was just vegging on the couch watching the latest episode of the Voice.

Entry to the #febphotaday challenge.